Fleeting Feelings

For we walk by faith, not by sight.
2 Corinthians 5:7

Fleeting Feelings

Feelings are fleeting
Momentary glimpses into the flesh of the heart
They are dependent on your circumstances
Unstable and unpredictable
Leading us down paths of unrighteousness

Anger, bitterness, jealousy, and hatred
Sent from Satan to deceive
Feelings that cause us to sin and fall
Harsh reactions leading to destruction and pain
Illuminating the weaknesses within us all

God’s word should guide
A refuge when we are weak
It stands sovereign and secure
Bringing peace, joy, truth, strength and life
Leading to responses for a hopeful future

Feelings fade but God’s word is immutable
Everlasting among the fleeting feelings
Steady it stands among the storms
A spiritual gauge in this life of chaos
Lighting our way, inspiring us to transform

4 thoughts on “Fleeting Feelings

  1. I have to agree with your post and I can see how feelings can keep us from being productive and on fire Christians. I know my self I must step back and not allow my feelings to mess with faith. My faith is not a feeling it’s a life style. Often how I feel influences my behavior and distracts me from my walk. I would be OK if I didn’t have this sinfull flesh attached to me!

    • Amen brother! It is our feelings that can often lead us into temptation and lead us to stray for they are strong and so very real as they are a part of us. But feelings pass, they fade, they flit about like birds on the breeze, going here and there as our mood and circumstances change! I love that God is constant and his love for us is eternal! That is what keeps me grounded and focused; helping me to know his way, his plan, and the truth of what I feel, rather than the feelings expressed through my flesh. God bless and keep you my friend!

    • Difficult indeed but certainly not reliable! How many times have we gone by feelings only to find out we were wrong and the choices we made were disastrous and hurtful to ourselves and others. Praise God for his wisdom and grace which guides us as a compass in the dark waters of life.

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

