Battle for My Heart

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be.  –Matthew 6:21

Battle for My Heart

In this world day by day
Wanting so much more
Praying for the Lord to come
Awaiting what’s in store

At times my heart gets derailed
Sometimes I lose my way
Temptation beckons on my hearts door
I try so hard not to stray

Money, power, lust, greed
This world thinks very highly of
Grace, mercy, love, and joy
Belong to the LORD above

Get behind me selfish thoughts
Fall away illusions of dust
You are only temporary
Soon reduced to piles of rust

Hope, peace, eternal life
This is what I prize
Let the song of my heartstrings
Take to the challenge and rise

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

