Heartfelt Gift

Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.
–Romans 12:4-6

Heartfelt Gift

Heart filled with sympathy
Aching with pain for so many
They hurt, I feel
They struggle, I ache

This gift sent from above
Helping me extend compassion
I cry, they heal
I pray, they feel

A connection I will never truly understand
The Lord must guide me in this gift
My heart breaks, God renews
My mind races, God calms

Wondering sometimes what I can do
Always coming back to God
I seek, He heals
I release, He strengthens

God has so richly blessed every one of his children with gifts that are meant to glorify his kingdom and build his people up. There are numerous gifts that have been bestowed on the body of Christ. You may be an encourager, the mouth of the body, building and edifying those who are discouraged or stumbling in their walk. Perhaps you are the server or helper in your church, the hands of the church that reach out to those in need with a meal during hard times or a hug or shoulder to cry on when they are in despair. There are also those who have been given the gift of wisdom or knowledge, those who teach. They are the minds of the church, continually digging deeper to find meaning and facts to support the truth of God, to teach who God is, to teach the ultimate truth to the body of Christ. There are those who evangelize, others who perform great miracles, others who prophecy, and still some who are called to be leaders, pastors, apostles, and so much more in the the body of Christ. I do not know what gift you possess for that is between you and God. Through prayer the Lord will reveal to you the gifts He has so richly blessed you with.

I have, in time, come to learn my own gifts and to increase in knowledge of how I use them and apply them to my own life and the lives of those around me. There is one gift however, the gift of mercy, that I am still learning how to use. The gift of mercy creates within my heart a deep sense of compassion for others and the ability to feel with them, or to walk, so to speak, in their shoes. I have found through the years that this, of the gifts God has blessed me with, is the most difficult for me to get used to, especially when so many of my friends are suffering and going through such difficult times. The emotions for me are as real and intense as the emotions they are feeling. The urge to cry or hit moments of despair are strong, especially when the person is close to me. The compassion God has placed within my heart for others means that I hurt when they hurt. It has called me to a life of prayer in which I have to constantly surrender those people, their situations and their emotions to God. If any gift could be a burden, this one is for me because the emotions are so intense and the pains are so real to me even though I am not the one going through the storm! As I pray for them, I pray too for me…that God will give me the strength and wisdom to use this gift well and to bring him glory despite my weak heart and fallible mind.

It is from the gift of mercy that my other gifts flow. I have come to realize that though this beautiful gift is often hard on me mentally and physically, it is what enables me to understand the hearts of those around me and it allows me to really use the other gifts God has given me more effectively and efficiently. I am able to encourage and come along side my sisters and brothers because I can understand the trial they are going through because I can feel it so intensely. I am able to focus my prayers more clearly for I truly know what my friends are going through. The gift of mercy has also made me a better listener and has opened doors that have allowed me to share the love of God more freely and has helped me understand the hearts of others so as to help guide my conversations with them. God has said that our journey in this life would not be easy but that He would equip us with all we need to carry out His plan for us. We can truly bring God glory when we honor the gifts He gives us by using them to the fullest.

I urge you to seek, to pray, and allow the Lord to use you, to use the gifts He has given you. Though it may be difficult, the fruit that is produced is both miraculous and beautiful. May you find yourself in the hands of God, living according to His will and being an instrument sharing God’s melodic tune with all those you encounter. All my love.

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

