Breathe In, Breathe Out

Come to me all you who labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest.
–Matthew 11:28

Breathe In, Breathe Out

Settling here in a world snowy white
Basking in the cool crisp air
A slight nip tickling my nose
The dazzling array of twinkling stars
Provides a blanket of entertainment
Admiring nature at its finest

Breathe in
Breathe out

Relaxing amidst the glorious peace
Water delicately ebbing to and fro
Calming the mind and soothing the soul
Trees gently whisper a comforting melody
A reminder of God’s very presence
Ah, to be in the midst of such splendor

Breathe in
Breathe out

Playfulness abounds with a sense of rest
Reveling as the children play
Laughter echoing from the snow covered hill
Sliding, gliding effortlessly atop the snow
Enjoying the wonder of youth
Their joy overtakes the heart within

Breathe in
Breathe out

I am typically a pretty healthy person, but lately, over the past month or so, I have been feeling unusual; not my typical self.  I have been getting tired easily, headaches have been coming frequently and I have just been feeling blah.  I know I am not sick with the flu or other cold bugs, just feeling weird, off kilter.  I talked with a few friends and they began to pray for me as the fatigue was getting to me the most.  It seemed that no matter how long I slept, it just wasn’t enough.  Weeks passed and no improvement, but I kept on trucking, getting things done as most single mom’s do.  I went to work, processed paperwork, worked with my students, came home, cooked, cleaned, enjoyed time with my son and attempted to read and spend time with God before collapsing into bed.

In mid February, I was invited to join a friend in Tahoe and decided it would be a beneficial time to get away, share my faith with some other friends that were going, and just escape from the hustle and bustle of the world.  Ah!!  Lake Tahoe, so beautiful, peaceful, and so close to God that His voice just resounds off the mountains, echoes over the water, and whispers in the wind.  It was fabulous.  I read, I wrote, I socialized, I shared, I slept!  Oh yes, I slept!  As I shuffled around the cabin we were staying in, my heart began to feel rejuvenated, renewed, and revived.  God was working on me that weekend.  He was healing me, giving me time to rest and allowing me time to be with Him and get filled!  I was truly blessed that weekend as I watched my son and the rest of the children playing in the snow.  I was able to write and read while listening to their laughter fill the air.

I am so very thankful for friends who invited me and for God who provided exactly what I needed to get my body back on track.  It is indeed the little things that make us whole, the details that keep us going.  May the Lord bless you with time to relax and rest so that you may be renewed and revived.  May He fill you with his energy and zest for life and may you heed his still, small voice in those quiet times.  Blessings and don’t forget to breath in and breath out.

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

