Old Meets New 1 – Amidst the Storms of Life

I have decided to condense my blogs into this one blog, therefore, I will be transferring past posts to this site. The other site was titled Struggles Against Principalities, and was a place for me to examine the trials and tribulations I was facing in my life, and allow me a chance to help others see that they are not alone in this world of struggles…God is always there, orchestrating all things to bring us all to a place of blessing filled with peace, joy, and contentment. Just as on the other blog, I pray these will touch your life and bring you a sense of how much you are loved by your Creator.

God bless!

AMIDST THE STORMS OF LIFE

100_1576

Have you ever felt like the storms in your life will never end? Wondered why life is so difficult and when the instability will cease? Life here on earth is not meant to be perfect as that was destroyed with the fall of man–thank you very much Adam and Eve. However, we have hope. We have the chance to believe that things can get better; that the storms will calm and life will cease to unravel. Yes, there is hope and we can overcome the storms. How? Through earnestly seeking God and His plan for you life.

I too have been traveling the weary journey of problems and circumstances that have caused me to fear and at times lose hope. Having been unemployed for almost 5 years this school year, the road of life has had it share of instability and uncertainty. But, with God at my side (even when I couldn’t feel Him) I was able to cling to an inner peace. The Lord God Almighty was my shelter during this time of trouble. He was my strong tower when I couldn’t travel the path any longer. Even when my flesh warred with God, ultimately my Spirit won out, and I ran to Him, to the shelter of his wings (Psalm 61:4). In the Lord’s hiding place, I found rest from life’s pressures, stability amidst the caverns of chaos, and refuge from the desert mountains of depression. Yes, God was my all in all during the storms.

He was El Shaddai, the All Sufficient One, the God who nourishes, supplies and satisfies. Through this long journey of unemployment God blessed me with friends who helped, a church that met my needs, and government help that kept food on the table. He supplied all I needed and satisfied my heart with His love and nourished me physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. Does that mean I was always happy, always certain from one week to the next of what we would eat, what we would do financially? Of course not, but in my weakness, He was strong and He carried me. Praise God!

The Lord was El Roi, the God who sees and watches over me. Sometimes in our flesh we feel that God isn’t there; He doesn’t see what is going on in our life, otherwise He would change it or make it better. Well, that is a lie from Satan! God sees all that we go through and seeks to bring good, hope, and a future of peace to our lives (Jeremiah 29:11, Philippians 4:7). He doesn’t want us to worry or be anxious, as we are so important to Him and in His love, He will come to our aid (Philippians 4:6, Psalm 31:2). He sees all that happens in our life and will use it to bring good. Remember one thing, God does not bring hurt, chaos, or darkness into your life–Satan does! God is the one who uses Satan’s evil to bring about growth, strength, resolve, beauty, and hope to us! Embrace the journey and let the God, who sees it all, bless you because of it.

Through this entire journey of unemployment, God has most assuredly been Jehovah Jirah for me–the God who provides. He met every need in the most amazing ways! I received monetary gifts in the mail when I least expected them (thanks to those anonymous people who listened to the voice of God and came to my rescue!). There were times that bill companies graciously gave me extensions for payments and times when food was given to me out of the blue. God gave all that I needed and so much more. He allowed me to find true humility amidst the struggle and gave me the chance to learn and embrace grace and love in so many ways! It is His unlimited bounty that helped me face each day secure in His provision for me and my family. Again, I had my moments of anxiety, my nights of tears, and days of disappointment, but God used His spirit within to keep me grounded and bring me back to the shelter of His love for me.

Two major things I took away from this journey (though there are so many more) are that of trust and prayer. I learned that trust is not just a word or an agreement, but it is an ACTION. When we trust in the Lord we are to show that trust. How can you show trust? There are several ways: do not worry about what each day will bring (Matthew 6:26-27), seek God in prayer (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18), and believe that He has good plans for you (Jeremiah 29:11). Each of those requires action, either physical, mental, emotional, or a combination. Though it seems that your problems will never subside, believe that God is bigger than all the problems you could ever face and that He is your refuge amidst the storms.

With all my love and thanks to my friends and family for getting me through one of the most difficult journeys in my life. You are truly Angels of God’s Light!

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

