Judgment Day

There are times in this world when I do what I don’t want to do, and I don’t do what I should do! What appears to be so easy is indeed quite difficult when it comes to my flesh, and the drive to have what I want when I want it, or avoid the things I don’t want. Paul discusses this same concept in Romans 7:15-20:

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

Sins of the flesh often surface even when we want to do what is right. The old adage, “If your best friend jumped off a cliff, would you do it as well?”, applies here. Just because the world beckons you to do something it deems as “fun” or “feels good”—be it partying and getting hammered, having sexual relations outside of marriage because you feel like it, lying to avoid consequences—whatever the something is, does not always mean it’s the right thing to do. On the flip side, we often want to do the right thing, but the flesh keeps coming back stronger than ever, tempting us to choose the “dark side” of life.

One very important point comes to mind for me when I think upon Romans 7:15-20…”How do my actions change people’s perceptions of me as a Christian?”

Whenever you are about to do something, whether having a lot to drink, having sex outside of marriage, using drugs, cursing like a sailor, gossiping, or anything else inappropriate, STOP for a minute. Evaluate the impact your choice will have on how others view who you are. Will they see Christ in you? Will they know that you are “walking the walk” of the Christian faith? Or will they see the same thing they see in everyone else…nothing different that will draw them to Christ? Will they see the world in your life or will they see Christ? The choice is yours. Choose wisely.

Blessings and may you always think twice before doing those things you don’t want to do, and work hard to do the things Christ calls you to do!

But you must be careful
so that your freedom does not cause others with a weaker conscience to stumble.
1 Corinthians 8:9

Judgment Day

Freedom comes in many forms
Allowing choices to be made

You can walk by faith
Choosing to follow Christ

You can traverse the worldly path
Choosing to side with the enemy

Be cautious which side you choose
For all will come to pass
When death knocks upon your door
Answers will be sought

All the gifts given you
Their application will be reviewed

All the words you speak
They will be accounted for

All the deeds you do
A judgment will take place

Standing transparent before the Lord
What will you say

I chose to follow my own path
Or I chose to follow you?

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

