Darkness to Light

Everyone has a past, times that haunt, memories that taunt and tear our hearts and minds apart. Sometimes they can be so overwhelming and you feel like you will break because the conflict is so strong. Believe the lies or seek the truth and let it fill your heart and mind?

I used to allow these wicked thoughts to take control, to lead me to places of danger and harm. But somehow, in some miraculous way, God came in. He reminded me of the truth…that I am HIS beautiful creation. I am pure and righteous through the atoning blood of His Son’s sacrifice. I am His daughter whom He loves with a love so divine and so grand that I am filled with a peace I simply don’t understand. With prayer and encouragement from trusted friends, He shines the light of His love whenever the lies of my past open the floodgates of darkness. He brings grace where shame once resided. God has given me the wonderful gift of His mercy, a compassion so rich it fills my soul and washes over the sinful guilt coursing through my heart and mind.

I honestly don’t know how my life would be without the pure love of God that came and rescued me! Would I be drowning in Satan’s sea of lies? Perhaps I would have turned to a life of alcohol or drugs to numb the pain? Maybe I would have resorted to cutting or a destructive lifestyle to bring relief from the past? I know not where I would be today without the grace of God living within me. He has reached into my state of brokenness and set me free from the shackles and bondage of abuse and for that I am eternally grateful. Yes, there are those moments where satan desires nothing more than to remind me of my past, to bring the abuse back to the forefront of my mind, to fill my heart with his elegant lies. But today it is different, for satan has been cast out…the lies replaced with the beauty and love of my wonderful, great, awesome, and powerful God!

I pray that you too can feel the loving hand of God upon you. May his truth come to light and wash over you so that no matter how hard satan tries, you will still return to the loving God who created you and calls you His own. Don’t lose hope by remaining in the pain of the past or the sin filled life of the present. Instead, run to the grace filled arms of Jesus Christ and find ultimate release from the sinful thoughts, the destructive plans, and the devastating patterns you have developed to help with the pain. Release them to the only One who can heal you deep within. May you find strength and peace amidst this journey of life! And even more importantly, may the glorious forgiveness of God encompass your very soul, reminding you how beautiful and how loved you truly are. All my love.

I will lead the blind by ways they have not known,
along unfamiliar paths I will guide them;
I will turn darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth.
These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them. –Isaiah 42:16

Darkness to Light

Darkness
Shame
Shifting sand

Spiraling
Plummeting
Nowhere to stand

Contempt
Anger
Rising again

Battling
Torment
Mind filled with sin

Searching
Seeking
Reaching for God’s hand

Praying
Yearning
Waiting to land

Forgiveness
Healing
God’s love so grand

Listening
Learning
Shackles of sin disband

Grace
Light
Flowing from God’s hand

One thought on “Darkness to Light

  1. Pingback: Right Where He Needs | Journey with God

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

