Kiss ~ In memory of my Grandmother

Today, I have been pondering the memories of the people in my past that have made me who I am, and provided me with direction and wisdom that continues to guide me today and will do so well into the future.  I recently started scrapbooking pictures of family and friends that date back as far as the 1800’s.  It has been fabulous and reminds me of the blessings we have, and the struggles others went through to get me where I am today.  Many are long gone, and many I have never met, but without them, I would not exist!

With that said, in loving memory of my exceptionally wonderful grandparents, I share poems in their memory. This one is dedicated to my grandmother who showed me what it meant to be a lady. I could never leave the house without a slip under my skirt or dress, I was called to respect and show kindness (as you did toward me), and it was expected that I would behave like a proper lady at all times.  She was not just my grandmother, but a mother to me as well, and I am so thankful for her influence in my life!

grandma

He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up. Lest you dash your foot against a stone. ~ Psalm 91:11-12

Now I Know Why…

As I watch home videos
Tears fill my eyes
I miss you with all my heart
And wonder why it was your time to die

Whenever life gets complicated
Times when it seems so tough
My selfishness comes out
I want you here, all to myself

Why did God have to take you
He knows I need you so much
You are now out of my reach
Well beyond my touch

I look back at all you did for me
Instilling values and morals deep in my soul
Telling me of your life stories
Sharing my joys and sorrows

You are no longer here with me
Instead, you reside high above
An angle up in Heaven
Residing with lost ones you loved

I was blessed to be cared for by you
More fortunate than most
For this I am indeed very thankful
To the Lord, our Heavenly Host

I suppose I understand now
Why God called you home to Him
He needed someone wonderful
To help welcome the rest of us in

With all my love to you and may the glory of Heaven be all you ever imagined!  Until I see you again, your loving granddaughter.

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

