The Potter

This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord:  “Go down to the potter’s house,
and there I will give you my message.”  So I went down to the potter’s house,
and I saw him working at the wheel.
But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands;
so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.
Then the word of the Lord came to me.
He said, “Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the Lord.
“Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel.
Jeremiah 18:1-6

preamble.wordpress.com

preamble.wordpress.com

On the contrary, who are you, O man, who answers back to God?
The thing molded will not say to the molder,
“Why did you make me like this,” will it?
Or does not the potter have a right over the clay,
to make from the same lump one vessel for honorable use
and another for common use? ~ Romans 9:20-21

vocations-syracuse.org

vocations-syracuse.org

The Potter

You are the Potter and I am the clay

Mold me and shape me to be more like you each day

I am nothing; lifeless, dull, and plain

Make me like you, remove every stain

Shape me into something beautiful and pure

A vessel that is righteous, holy, and sure

Lord, lay your hands upon me

Create a beautiful heart and soul for all to see

For You are the Potter and I am the clay

Mold me and shape me to be more like you each day

2 thoughts on “The Potter

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

