Let’s Play Ball

Life is a constant war, a game if you will, where the players are not of this world. We are but rookies in this game of life, and must learn to rely on something stronger than ourselves to make it through. I cannot avoid Satan’s snares, the temptations of the flesh, without the strength of the Lord! For the Lord is my strength and my refuge in times of help…He is my shield and my sword…my light and my all. With that said….

Let’s Play Ball

Fighting battles everyday
Knowing Satan wants to play
Here I stand, a player in the first inning
Aware the battle is just beginning
1 strike
2 strikes
3 strikes
I am out
Walking away filled with doubt
2 innings
3 innings
4 innings down
The scoreboard shows I am losing ground
Satan swings
He hits
He scores
The game is not lost, more is in store
God is pitching now
1 strike
2 strikes
3 strikes
Temptation does not succeed
Upon my heart it will not feed
5 innings
6 innings
7 inning stretch
God’s encouraging, loving arms outstretched
8 innings in and the game is tied
The battle rages on inside
The ninth inning is here
Satan scores a homerun
Though the battle for my soul is not done
My final at bat
I hit
I miss
Strike 1
Strike 2
I pray, I seek, I focus on what is true
Satan pitches
With bated breath I stand
Ball meets bat, praying for a grand slam
I run, and run
Avoiding Satan’s snare
Only to be tagged out
And thus find myself in despair
Yet still the game is not done
The bases are loaded
Christ is at bat
First swing out the door
A homerun is scored
Thus the scoreboard stands…
Satan – 3
Christ – 4
The battle lay in God’s hands
Not of my own ability could I win
Only with God’s strength can I beat sin

3 thoughts on “Let’s Play Ball

  1. Thank you for liking my blog and following. I hope one day to write each week. I am also a email responder for the Billy Graham association and right now that fills my writing time. l have emailed this poem to my husband, he will love it. Your son seems to have your talent for writing, what a blessing. I am happy to be your sister in Christ. Jan

    • Indeed I am blessed to have found some wonderful sisters and brothers in Christ through blogging! I have been inspired and at times had my faith and my walk renewed through the writing and responses of others! How exciting to be a responder for the Billy Graham association…that is awesome! God bless and keep you and your family! In Christ’s love ❤

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

