Not My Own

Listen to advice and accept discipline,
and at the end you will be counted among the wise.
Many are the plans in a person’s heart,
but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.
~ Proverbs 19:20-21

Not My Own

Thwarted at every turn
Plans gone awry
Expectations gone
This path is not mine

Disappointment strikes
Detours have been given
I know not where to go
Just where I am driven

This way and that
A shot into the dark
Searching for the way
Yet somehow missing the mark

Advice and counsel sought
Paths yet unknown
The journey still unwritten
God’s plan slowly being shown

Plans of the heart
Will often go astray
When not in line with God’s
I tend to lose my way

Clueless I run this race
Hoping to stay the course
Moving here and there
Praying for God to endorse

Trusting blindly I follow God’s plan
One that is greater than mine
A path that leads to peace and joy
Leaving the past behind

 

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

