My Restless Prayer

Another sleepless night! Restless thoughts, anxious heart, sadness, confusion, fatigue (then why can’t I sleep!?). The list seems to go on and on tonight, yet somewhere in the midst I feel alert and peaceful with a hint of happiness inside. Hmmmm….to sleep or not to sleep, the choice apparently isn’t mine as I sit here wishing I could close my eyes and wander off into the land of sweet dreams and restful slumber. Perhaps it is the nightmares that keep me up, or the overwhelming emotions. Maybe it is the pressure of life or the endless checklists that continue to beckon me even after they have been written down. Perhaps it is all the above or maybe it is none. Whatever the reason for this lack of sleep, I am drawn to write, yet even this seems empty right now. Never had that happen before. So, instead of a poem or a song, perhaps a prayer to settle the heart, mind and soul down.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am gentle and humble in heart,
and you will find rest for your souls.
~ Matthew 11:29

Confess your faults one to another,
and pray one for another, that ye may be healed.
The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.
~ James 5:16

Lord, I come before You
Broken and confused
Hurting and weak
A sinner among the world of flesh
Praying humbly before You
Wanting desperately to find You in the middle of everything
To hear Your voice saying all will be fine
This too shall pass
I seek Your treasures
I want to be filled with You oh God
Yet I am walking through this spiritual desert
Yearning to pray, but at a loss for words
Desiring to dive into Your word, but struggling to find the strength
Even my worship seems hollow in this moment
Everything makes me weepy, Lord, and I feel like I am going to crack
Happiness eludes, yet life goes on
My friends are suffering
So many loved ones have passed in so little time
Some memories bring joy while others haunt
Cancer runs a muck in the lives of those I love
And pain seems to be everywhere I turn
How long does this last?
Will it ever end?
I know You are here Lord
I feel Your presence everywhere I am
Yet still I feel so alone
Your hand is in all that is going on
I trust You completely
Knowing You are my all
My Provider
My Rock
My Fortress
My Shield
My Hope
My Strength
My Energy
My Refuge
My Peace
You are everything to me and so much more
Help me Father to get through this storm
Guide me safely where You want me to be
Lead me and renew the spirit within
Bring passion for Your Word back to my heart
Let the songs I sing bring glory to Your name
Be all I need through the trials
Give me strength to face each day
I don’t want to get lost in the pain
Don’t want to fall to pieces
Lord I want to feel Your presence
Be with me
Be with my friends and family
Bring healing where illness and pain exist
Bring hope where darkness and despair lie
Bring peace where anxiety and fear reside
Bring joy instead of mourning
Bring comfort in the midst of heartbreak
Father, despite my feelings
In spite of my thoughts
Regardless of the circumstances
I KNOW You are here
May Your rest please come this way

In Jesus name! Amen!

2 thoughts on “My Restless Prayer

  1. I love your words. Whispers of my own heart… I will pray for you – for your life to be filled with passion. peace, joy, hope, healing and love. To have the grace to feel His profound and unimaginable love, in the midst of loss, and grief, and anxiety… And this is also my own prayer for myself. Be blessed!

    • Amazingly, even midst the storm, God is faithful and my spirit has peace. His love always surrounds, but the heart and mind still feel, still need to heal. Prayers for you my friend and may we both (and all those who are walking the road of difficulty and heartbreak) focus on the blessings to which we are ever so thankful and may we feel the ever present glory and comfort of the One true God! Blessings to you as well 🙂

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

