The Lord is My Shepherd!!

The LORD is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures:
he leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul:
he leads me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
Yes, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil: for you are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies:
you anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life:
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.
~ Psalm 23 ~

psalm-23-1-the-lord-is-my-shepherd (1)

Psalm 23 ~ A Reflection of My Heart ❤

The Lord leads me in all things;
I shall stand strong
He brings me rest with musical melodies;
He inspires me and renews my energy within
He repairs the brokenness of my heart and soul;
He opens doors to bring me to where He wants me to be
Yea, though I walk through the streets of chaos and confusion,
I will not fear; for the Lord is with me, bringing wisdom, direction, comfort and peace unending
He allows me to shine with righteousness, even in the presence of those who don’t know Him and those who hate me;
He blesses my life with riches of the heart; my joy overflows daily
Surely His love and grace will be with me so long as I live;
and I am delighted to dwell in His presence forever

4 thoughts on “The Lord is My Shepherd!!

    • Hey there 🙂 Great question! When looking at the Hebrew word for want, it is chaser (khaw-sare’), and it means to lack, need, be lacking, or decrease. So put in context with the original Hebrew, it would read “I shall not lack or need”. God is faithful to give us all we need, you may want much more, but it is in his infinite wisdom to supply all we need in this world to help us produce the most fruit and to bring him glory! There have been times where I was in “need” financially. I am a single mom and was unemployed for about a year and half. I was able to sub part time, but that did not pay the bills and put food on the table. But by miracles and the generosity of others in the church, I always had what I needed!! I remember one time worrying about how I was going to pay for groceries for the next two weeks…and just as I thought I was going to have to borrow money, I received a check in my mail for $350 from an anonymous contributor at my church. God was there, showing me that I would never be in need. It was during that time on uncertainty that my faith was strengthened, humility was learned, and my testimony to his glory grew! So it does not mean that we won’t want for things of this world, but it does mean that he will provide all we need!! Other scriptures to look up on this topic: Psalm 34:9-10, Philippians 4:19. Exodus is also a great example of God’s provision for his people. They did not always like what he gave them, and they often had want for more….but they were fed with manna from the sky and their thirst was filled with water from the rock. God is ever faithful my friend! Hope this helps…God bless and keep you!

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

