How do You Live Your Dash?

With all of the devastating and saddening  events occurring in my life right now, I sought comfort and encouragement in an old devotional I have–The Saviour’s Touch by Charles Stanley. As I opened the worn book to read, a folded paper fell out, and alas it was a poem by Linda Ellis! A poem about how we live the time between our birth and our death; a poem about slowing down and appreciating all that is true and real; a poem to remind me that life is short and time is valuable, reminding me that loving the people in my life is my priority; a poem calling me to be honest and sincere with my words and to not fear what others think.  As I read it, my eyes teared up and my mind wandered into how rich and full my life could be if I just let go, and let God; if I just surrender and live the way he designed me to live.  I pray that you enjoy this sparkling reminder of what life is all about.

How Do You Live Your Dash?

I read of a pastor who stood to speak
At the funeral of his friend.
He referred to the dates on her tombstone
From the beginning to the end.

He noted that first came the date of her birth,
And spoke of the second date with tears.
But he said what mattered most of all
Was the dash between those years.

For that dash represents all the time
That she spent alive on earth.
And now only those who loved her
Know what that dash is worth.

For it matters not how much we own;
the cars, the house, the cash.
What matters most is how we live,
And how we spend our dash.

So think about this long and hard,
Are there things you’d like to change?
For you never know what time is left.
You could be at “dash, mid-range.”

If we could just slow down enough,
To see what’s true and real.
And always try to understand
The way that others feel.

And be less quick to anger,
And show appreciation more,
And love the people in our lives
Like we’ve never loved before.

If we treat each other with respect,
And more often wear a smile,
Keeping in mind this special dash
Might last but a little while.

So when your eulogy’s being read,
Your life’s actions to rehash,
Would you smile at the things being said
About how you spent your dash?

Life is short my friends, and I have lost so many loved ones in the last 2 months that I have come to realize something so very new to me…I have not been living to the fullest. I do try, don’t get me wrong. But from this day on, I will not live my life in the spirit of fear, but in power and love and sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7) for my God is with me always and forever, (Matthew 28:20) and in Him I can do all things (Philippians 4:13). Chris Tomlin sums it up in this amazing song that I leave you with. God bless and keep you, and may your eyes be open and your heart be strong enough to live the life God has designed for you! All my love ❤

2 thoughts on “How do You Live Your Dash?

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!