Wake Up!

I sat in church today enjoying our guest pastor’s message on the denial of Christ (as Peter did in Matthew 26:69-75). It was indeed very intriguing and need I say, very convicting as well!

Peter was a strong follower of Jesus, giving up everything to follow Him and learn His ways. He was a leader among Jesus’ disciples, and was one of the inner three closest to the Lord. But even with this impressive spiritual resume, Peter still had weaknesses and made mistakes. He was impulsive and often spoke or made decisions before thinking them through. This human disciple was not immune to falling, and fall he did….hard and and fast! He thought he had it all together…stating to Christ that “Even if all (referring to the other disciples) fall way on account of you, I never will” and “Even if I have to die with you, I will never disown you.” (Matthew 26:31-33). This spiritual pride and arrogance is what led to him denying Christ three times.

Through this Biblical account, the Lord convicted me. The pastor stated how Peter got the point of being an on-fire, born-again follower of Christ to a weak, fear-led human of this world.

1. Spiritual Pride – thinking you have greater knowledge and understanding of God, Christ, Biblical principles, etc., feeling that you are morally superior to other believers
2. Spiritual Slothfulness – Being lazy in regards to prayer, meditation, praise and worship of the Lord, lack of active involvement in learning and growing in the Lord which leads to a weakened flesh
3. Spiritual Distance – the act of distancing yourself from the things of the Lord

As the pastor spoke on each point, I continued to be convicted. The point that struck me most was Spiritual Slothfulness. I have to admit, my prayer life recently has been lazy and lackadaisical (perhaps due to summer vacation). I tend to fit it around my schedule rather than making it the center of my schedule. Without an active prayer life, I leave doors of temptation wide open, beckoning Satan to come on in! Prayer and Biblical reading and meditation should be the start of my day, should carry on throughout my day, and should end my day (1 Thessalonians 5:17, Philippians 4:6, Deuteronomy 11:18-21). The last 6 weeks I have found that I have spent more time asleep or watching television/movies than I care to admit, while spending very little time learning and growing in God’s word! I can do better, oh so much better! I don’t want to fall because I have lacked the spiritual discipline necessary to keep me grounded and protected by the Lord.

good morningWe must always be vigilant, watching and waiting for the Lord’s return. We must continually seek the Lord, coming to His throne daily, meeting with Him, reading His word, listening to His still small voice, and communicating with Him through prayer.

Don’t get caught up in the ways of this world, but rather, get back on track to the path of everlasting life and heavenly glory!

God bless, and as I pray for you, please pray for me. In God’s love!

prayer

Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.
1 Corinthians 10:12

Wake Up!

Worldly desires
Materialism
Greed
Lusts of the flesh

Spiritual pride
Disobedience
Arrogance
Sleeping with the enemy

Weakened body
Slumbering
Distanced
Spiritual atrophy within

Godly desires
Worship
Praise
Longings of the soul

Spiritual sweat
Obedience
Humility
Vigilant in the Lord

Strengthened flesh
Alert
Watching
Waiting for His glory

One thought on “Wake Up!

Feel free to leave a comment, suggestion or prayer request. God bless!

